Nga Kaihoe O Aotearoa (Waka Ama NZ) Inc Annual General Meeting Friday 16 January 2015

Don Rowlands Centre, Lake Karapiro, Meeting opened 7.05pm

Chair: Paora Howe Minutes: Debbie Sellar

Attending

Maria Ooms – Aratika	Moa Kingi – UP2
Graeme Godbehere – Hauraki Sports Club	Ralph Ruka – Te Puu Ao
Danielle Rouse – Board Member	Lawrence Smith – TMOCC
Jo Doherty – Horouta Waka Hoe	Conan Herbert – Waka Ama NZ
Matai Wetere – PCKC	Amiria Mita – Waka Ama NZ
Claudia Colenso	Ngahuia Mita
Tim Marshall – Board Member	Lara Collins – Waka Ama NZ
Trevor Shailer – Board Member	Paul Dahl – Te Waka Pounamu
Bim Skudder – Maketu Club	Cherie Collison – UP2
Carmel Barrett – Whakatu Marae	Pare Rata – Te Toki Voyaging Trust
Margie – Aratika	

Apologies

Vesna Radonich	
----------------	--

Karakia Ralph Ruka welcomed everyone to the meeting.

AGM Minutes 2014

The minutes of the 16 January 2014 Annual General Meeting were received as a true record of that meeting *CARRIED*

The Board's Annual Report

Paora presented his written report for everyone to read.

Paora thanked Lara for the leadership she has shown our sport. He made particular note of the clear policies and organisational processes that have been put in place over the last 3 years.

Te Tohu Whakarewa Tangata o Nga Kaihoe o Aotearoa - in establishing waka ama, contributors to the sport leave a legacy and we will continue to build this legacy as we grow.

Ralph Ruka explained the design of the carvings, the top represents the waka taua where the steerer stands and the bottom symbolises the silver fern that we wear to worlds.

The first 3 recipients of this prestigious award are:
Kris Kjeldsen (posthumous award to be made to members of his whanau)
Matahi Brightwell (to present to him at the prizegiving)
Pili Muaulu (to be presented to him in Australia in a few weeks)

The Board will lead the process for the next 3 years and then spread to the community to have input on recipients.

A Virtual Hall of Fame will be created on the website to acknowledge the founders and contributors of our sport and create a legacy we can all be proud of.

Paora acknowledged the waka ama whanu members we lost in 2014 including Rawiri Rangitauira, Ruamata and Amster Reedy, Tu Nui a Te Ika Outrigger Club who we remember with gratitude.

CEO Report and Annual Financial Report

Lara presented her written report for everyone to read.

The 25th National Sprint Championships were a milestone and a success, hard to believe it was 12 months ago.

Lara thanked Paora who gives a lot of his time to the sport and the Board Members (Tim Marshall, Paul Dahl, Danielle Rouse, Ralph Ruka, Cherie Collison and Trevor Shailer) for their work.

Highlights of 2014 were:

A 21% growth in 2014 and 68% over the last 3 years. We are well on our way to achieving our goal of the largest water sport in New Zealand

Website – thanks to Alex Ryder - there were 1 million page views in 2014

Facebook - doubled to 10,000 likes

Secondary School Nationals are always a highlight – the goal of 100 schools participating is achievable

Lara acknowledged New Zealand Post who has been a partner since 2011. We are the most successful partnership they have had to date.

Lara thanked her staff; Deb, Amiria & Conan who are all on the same page and trust each other completely.

Audited Statement of Accounts

These were presented and a motion was moved to receive the accounts. CARRIED

Appointment of the Auditor

Motion to appoint William Buck Limited as Auditors for the 2014/2015 year was moved. CARRIED

<u>Karakia</u> Trevor Shailer, to close the meeting.

Meeting declared closed 7.30pm